Beauty

Avril Organic Lipstick in Terre Battue

Spring is just around the corner and I’ve been looking for a lipstick that lives up to the festivities. I love a coral color, and I also love a pink, but I’ve been hesitant to stray farther into brick colors because I am afraid they will make me look pale.

This week I had the chance to try Avril’s Terre Battue, and have to say I am pleasantly surprised. I actually really love the nuances of this color. Avril describes the lipstick as a dark red, but on my skin it looks much more like a rich terra cotta.

Download (3).png

It is beautiful, rich and has this lovely shine to it without being loud or sparkly. The color will be perfect with an light olive green dress I have been waiting to bust out of my closet (trust me, it is pretty. Flow-y, spring-y, flowery!)

The lipstick itself feels creamy and moisturizing and lasts without leaving flecks of pigmentation drying on my lips. My favorite traits:

  • The shimmer- it adds just a tiny hint of shine without being glossy or sparkly
  • The pearly quality of the finish
  • The long lasting moisture

To quote the website:

This organic certified Avril Lipstick fulfills all your desires. Its nourishing formula with jojoba* and almond* oils protects the lips and covers them in naturally shimmering colours.
* Certified organically grown

avrillip.png

I’m not sure about fulfilling *all* my desires, but I do love that the lipstick contains natural oils. It doesn’t have the drying properties of a lot of my favorite conventional brands, and I can leave it on without having to apply a lip balm over it.

Ingredients (INCI): Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil*, Cera Alba (Beeswax)*, Mica, Olus Oil, Ci 77491 (Iron Oxides), Jojoba Esters, Copernicia CeriferaCera (Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax)*, Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Hydrated Silica, Trihydroxystearin,Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter*, Parfum (Fragrance), Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Glyceryl Caprylate,Tocopherol, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Ci 77492 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Glycine Soja Oil, Dendrobium Phalaenopsis Flower Extract.* *certified organic
100% natural ingredients
37,5% certified organic ingredients

Do you use an organic lipstick? Which color or brand is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

