Beauty

Provida Organic Nail Polish: Satin Pearl

Download (12)

Happy St.Patrick’s Day everyone! I’ve had this bottle of nail polish sitting on my desk for a while, so I thought today was the perfect opportunity to give it a go! I am considering my shamrock lucky even if it is a little lopsided 😉

Today’s entry digs deeper into Provida’s Living Nails Colors in Satin Pearl, an organic nail polish that has received both big praise and big criticism. I wrote about two other colors from this line, Blue Smoke and Hot Chestnut, in my first Provida entry. For more information about the brand and how to use the polish, please see that entry 🙂

White nail polish is very difficult to do well- just a tad too white and it looks like white out, a tad too little color and it is too watery to do much good. Personally, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this color. As you can see in the close up, the first nail I painted was my last finger. At this point, I hadn’t shaken the polish enough, and as a result you really see the mineral deposits. I can’t emphasize enough SHAKE THIS POLISH BEFORE USING!! 

Once I shaked the devil out of my bottle, the minerals mixed to a happy medium and the polish was much easier to apply. Due to the fact that the organic polish is mineral based, you really need a good blend. Do not despair if the nail polish separates! Just give it a strong shake for at least 45 seconds, and you should be good to go.

Tips & Tricks: 

  • apply two coats of clear polish underneath to establish a base coat
  • using the basecoat should make the polish easier to use
  • seal with one or two layers of top coat

Keep your polish on hand in case you need to touch it up! Adding another layer is easy, and is relatively unnoticeable- see my middle finger as an example of what not to do. I should have painted a whole coat and just went for a quick cover up and you can see where the texture overlapped. A full coat would prevent this.

Warning: the nail polish does tend to chip, especially if your hands are often in water. Since it is waterbased, it is sensitive. A heavy top coat and using cleaning gloves is totally worth it, as it will keep your polish on longer.

What are your thoughts? Have you ever used an organic polish?

 

Leave a Reply

