Health / Natural Product Reviews

Friya: The Superfood-Drink with Basil Seeds

I just started training for a half marathon, and like many beginners, I am looking for ways to improve my performance through what I eat and drink. Today I tested Friya’s relatively new Basil Seed Superfood Drink, as it looks similar to the Chia drinks I used to love in the States. Here’s an introduction:

(The packaging is in German because Friya is produced here in Austria)

The front side reads:

  • The Basil Seed Superfood Drink made with real basil seeds
  • Sour Cherry & Rose Blossom flavor

The back side reads:

  • vegan
  • no added sugar
  • no preservatives
  • lactose free

34 calories per 100ml

Basil seeds, a relative of the Chia seed, are highly valued in the Ayurvedic tradition and are considered a so-called “superfood”.

Friya frees you from:

  • feeling a bit hungry
  • daily stress
  • blah gray everyday-ness

12647230_951521621243_2438602552023794233_n

My Thoughts: 

I can really get behind the idea of escaping everyday blahs, and I also like the idea of a drink that will tide me over. This was a great fit. The container is fairly small and advises you to shake and serve cold. Under these instructions, I thought I would take things a step further and treat myself to a grownup glass.

I am very happy I did. First of all, I like the texture. No sliminess in this drink, and no aftertaste. Secondly, I actually do like the small size. I can see myself tossing one in my purse to drink pre-workout. Finally, the taste is far better than I imagined.

I was scared off by the idea of rose blossom. Rose is not my favorite scent, nor do I really want a rose tea or juice. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Friya has a light, slightly tart cherry-red flavor. I found it very refreshing. The sweetness comes from cherry juice concentrate and lemon juice, and is natural.

Ingredients: water, apple extract, 9% sour cherry juice concentrate, 2% lemon juice from concentrate, 1,5% basil seeds, calcium lactate acidity regulator, sodium citrate, natural flavors, gellan stabilizer, and rose blossom extract. Contains natural sugar, made without preservatives.

Egg-free, Fish-free, Gluten-free, Yeast-free, Lactose-free, Nut-free, Soy free, Wheat-free

The verdict: I will definitely purchase this again. I also think it would be a great pick me up for lagging days when I would rather not have coffee, or a little extra strength for a cold.

Do you have any chia drink secrets? What do you drink to perk yourself up?

 

Leave a comment